Wednesday , June 19 2019
Home / Political News / Current News / Bibeksheel Sajha Party splits
Machhapuchre Bank

Bibeksheel Sajha Party splits

By Our Reporter
Bibeksheel Sajha Party that was created 17 months ago by merging two separate parties led by Rabindra Mishra and UjjwalThapa has split owing to differences between the leaders.
The party that created uproar in the 2017 elections in the urban areas, causing defeats of a few NC candidates in Kathmandu, failed to maintain unity even for a year after the elections.
Although the party failed to win a single seat in the federal parliament, it has three seats in the provincial assembly of province 3.
Of the 37-member central committee of the party, 16 had reached the Election Commission to register the new party. The new party’s name has been proposed as Bibeksheel Nepali Party.
“We were forced to take this step because our political image will be tarnished if we delay the separation,” Ujjawalthapa said.
Thapa had long been dissatisfied with the activities of another coordinator Rabindra Mishra.
Ranju Neupane, Sadhana Rai, Subuna Basnet, AjitaRai, Anusha Thapa, Milan Pandey, Jeevan Shrestha, Govinda Narayan Timilsena, Ramesh Paudel, Sashi Bikram Karki, Gyanendra Niraula, Pukar Bam, Biraj Bhakta Shrestha, Ashutosh Tiwari and Arjun Singh Thakuri are in Thapa’s faction.
Ujjwal Thapa- led Bibeksheel Nepali and Rabindra Mishra-led Sajha Party had announced their unification on July 26, 2017. After the unification of two parties, Mishra had said that they decided to merge the party for the formation of alternative political force.
Mishra had faced a defeat at the hands of powerful Nepali Congress leader Prakash Man Singh from Kathmandu-1 by a slim margin of 818 votes.

Check Also

Nepal arrests four Indian policemen

Kathmandu, 18 June: Nepal police have arrested four Indian policemen from Bannegadhi Rural Municipality of …