Monday , February 20 2017
Home / About us

About us

People’s Review a profile

The People’s Review weekly was started in 1991, immediately after the establishment of multiparty democracy in the country. Prior to this venture, the same group was running a vernacular weekly Samrachana, advocating national interests and democracy. When the publishing group of Samrachana Publications (now Periwinkle Prakashan Pvt Ltd) felt that there was a strong need for an independent newspaper voicing national interest, independence, democracy and professionalism, with wide coverage of local events for its readers, specially, foreigners, it launched its present venture.

Editorial content:

The People’s Review mainly covers national news, views, analysis, commentary, opinion and business activities.

Circulation:

This weekly is highly in demand in, especially, the diplomatic sectors, foreign agencies, non-governmental organisations and the local political, business and educational sectors. The quality and international reach of the People’s Review weekly has been considerably enhanced in recent times, especially because of its entrance in the Internet.

Editorial group:

A tiny group concerned with national interests have been involved directly or indirectly in this publication and all of them are senior journalists recognised for their work nationally. Most of the contributors are serving the weekly on a voluntary basis.

Financial position:

As this weekly is running as an independent newspaper without support of any political parties or power centers, the main constraint of the publication has been its financial source. Lack of advertisements and party or interest groups’ contributions are the major causes for the poor state of the Weekly’s financial position. It may be mentioned that those very sources are the major sources for most newspapers’ survival in Nepal. But the People’s Review has been suffering in this sector because of its independent stance.

To remain completely independent while insuring continuity the Publications has established an endowment fund — contributions to which are expected from the Friends of People’s Review. Till date, we have been able to raise fund worth Rs 5,000,00 (five hundred thousand), which has been deposited at the Samyukta Shakti Saving and Credit Cooperatives Ltd. We have wished to increase the fund, from whose interest we have planned to meet the operational cost of the Weekly. Thus, we further welcome any donation or grant assistance for increasing the amount in the fund.

Editorial Team:

Editor-in-Chief: Pushpa Raj Pradhan

Consultant Editor: Mana Ranjan Josse

Associate Editor: Dr Shashi P.B.B. Malla

Guest Editor: Yug Bahadur

Desk Editor: Punjita Pradhan

Chief Reporter: B.N. Dahal

Reporter: Sandesh Shrestha

Legal Consultant: Bachu Singh Khadka

 Computer Layout: Shankar Aryal

Webpage Director: Yem KC

 Office:

Pipalbot, (Way to Ghattekulo) Dillibazar, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Tel: 977-1-4417352; 977-1-4438797

Email: prwnpal@gmail.com; peoplesreview@hotmil.com

CV of Pushpa Raj Pradhan

PUSHPARAJ-PRADHAN

Pushpa Raj Pradhan

Current Status:

Editor-in-Chief: People’s Review English weekly;

Social Service:

Vice Chairman: Samukta Shakti Saving and Investment Cooperatives Ltd.;

In the Past:

Secretary: Editors Society of Nepal;

Coordinator: ESON Library, Kathmandu; Treasurer: Late Gopal Gotame Memorial Academy, Kathmandu; Member, Ilameli Samaj (social organisation dedicated for the development of Ilam district);

Member: Chiyabari Club (An organisation dedicated in the field of social sector;

Founding Editor: Samrachana vernacular weekly (1980-1993);

Editor: Hindu vernacular daily (1991-92); Editor: Chiyabari (1985);

Editor: Samrachana monthly literary magazine (1976-83);

Editor: Pritibha monthly magazine (1979); Editor Vidyarthi (Ilam) (1978).

Professional Activities: Executive Member: Nepal Journalists’ Association (presently Federation of Nepalese Journalists), Central Committee (1992-95); Founder Member: Nepal Environmental Journalists’ Forum (1991-94).

Other Activities: Executive Member: Nationalist Independent Students’ Organisation (Rastravadi Swatantra Vidyarthi Mandal) (NISO), Ilam (1976); General Secretary NISO, Ilam, (1977-79).

Education:

M. A. in Economics from Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur, Nepal, in 1989.

Medals:Gaddhi Aarohan Rajat Mohatsab Padak (2053 B.S.) Birendra-Aishwarya Sewa Padak (2058 B.S.)Prabal Gorkhadxin Bahu 2061 BS

Foreign Visits: Thailand, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, China, including Tibetan Autonomous Region, Pakistan, Bangladesh and India.

Publications:Articles, features, columns and commentaries – especially in social, economic, environmental and political issues – published in several newspapers.
Also, published short poems, short stories and essays in the literary magazines.

Personal:Born in Ilam, Ilam District, Nepal, on September 26, 1957, married with (late) Jasuda Pradhan in 1981; married with Sushma Pradhan in 2012, one son and one daughter. Religion: Hindu

Address:Pipalbot, Dilli Bazar, P. O. Box No. 3052, Kathmandu, Nepal. Tel: 977-1-4417352; 977-1-4438797

E-mail: pushparajpradhan@gmail.com

Updated on 3 January, 2015

CV of M R Josse

MR_JOSSE

Mana Ranjan Josse

Current Status: Consultant Editor, People’s Review, weekly, Kathmandu;

In Past:Columnist, The Kathmandu Post, daily, Kathmandu;

Contributor, The Rising Nepal, daily, Kathmandu; and The Sunday Despatch, weekly, Kathmandu.

Columnist, The Everest Herald, daily, Kathmandu;

Contributing Editor, Economic and Political Monthly, Kathmandu;

Contributing Editor, Dialogue, weekly, Dhaka;

Correspondent, South Asian monthly, Hong Kong;

Correspondent, Business and Political Observer, daily, Delhi/Bombay;

Media Consultant, Institute for Integrated Development Studies, Kathmandu;

Founder and Consultant Editor, The Independent, weekly, Kathmandu; and Editor-in-Chief, The Rising Nepal, daily, Kathmandu.

Past Highlights:  Between August 1985-February 1990 served as Nepal’s Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations and as Alternative Representative to UN Security Council, 1988-89; Member, Nepalese delegation to 52nd. UN General Assembly, 1997, Member, Board of Directors, National News Agency, Kathmandu; Member, Board of Directors, Gorkhapatra Sansthan, Kathmandu; and Member, Nepal Press Council.

Academic Background:Senior Cambridge certificate 1956; Bachelor of Science degree, Calcutta University, 1960; and Masters of Arts degree in international relations Jadavpur University, Calcutta, 1963.

Training and Seminars: Newspaper management course at Berlin Institute of Journalism, West Berlin, 1972;

UN Editors’ Roundtable, New York, 1981; Asian Mass Communication Leaders’ Roundtable, Bangkok, 1982;

World Bank/UNITAR seminar on international development issues, Washington, D.C. 1987;

Bridgeport seminar for UN diplomats, Bridgeport University, CT, 1987;

New York University seminar for UN diplomats, NY, 1988.

Special Assignments: Covered King Birendra’s state and other visits to China (1973); Tibet/Sichuan (1976); USSR (1976); Sri Lanka (1985); United Kingdom (1980); Paris LDC Conference (1981); Gansu Province, China (1982); Spain (1983) and the United States (1983). Also covered King Jigme Singye Wangchuck’s coronation in Thimphu (1974) and led a press delegation to Tibet (1995).

Member, entourage, Prime Minister Man Mohan Adhikari’s official visit to India (1995) and member, entourage, Prime Minster Sher Bahadur Deuba’s visit to China (1996).

Interview of VVIPS: King Birendra; President Gayoom of the Maldives;the Dalai Lama; Prime Minister Begum Khaleda Zia of Bangladesh; President Zia-ul-Haq; Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto of Pakistan; and Prime Minister Sardar Qayyum Khan of Azad Kashmir.

Travel:Extensive travel through Asia, Western Europe and the United States as member of press delegation, on reporting and interview assignments, for seminars and sponsored observation tours. Also visited a number of African and Latin American countries.

Personal: Born in Kathmandu on October 29, 1941. With wife, a son and two daughters.

Address: Cha 2/406, Boudha Mahankal, Kathmandu-1, Nepal.

Phone: 977-1-471098

Email: mrjosse@gmail.com

Updated on 21 November, 2014

malla

Dr. Shashi P.B.B. Malla

Current Status:  Associate Editor, People’s Review weekly

Country Representative, DAV Summit Club, Munich (Germany’s leading adventure tour operators in mountaineering and trekking)
Senior Lecturer, Conflict, Peace and Development Studies, Tribhuwan University, Kathmandu

In the Past:Assistant Editor: The Rising Nepal, Kathmandu
Section Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, HMG  Studied International Politics (major), Sociology, Modern History, Chinese and Indian Studies at MunichUniversity; Ph.D.
(magna cum laude) Senior Lecturer, Munich University

Educational Background: School education in Darjeeling, India, certificate from Cambridge University.
College and university in Calcutta: I. Sc./St. Xavier’s, B.A. (Hons.)/ Presidency, M.A. (International Relations)/Jadavpur, India.

Updated on 21 November, 2014

Kind Request to Friends of People’s Review

Dear well-wishers,

It is our pleasure to inform you that a group of senior most journalists are accompanied with this newspaper. By maintaining quality and standard of the contents we are producing wide selection of items of interests from political and business world. This has considerably helped us to enhance our reach at home as well as abroad. Besides hard copy edition, since 1997 we are on Internet.To make our service more efficient and reliable, we want to develop a modest editorial and reporting team concerned with national interests. For this venture, we wish to raise funds especially from the Friends of People’s Review against providing the above mentioned services on Internet.

We hence request to our friends and well-wishers to support us for this venture either by providing advertisement or donation. For your kind information, we can place advertisement banners on the front page of our Internet site while charging US$ 100.oo for a year or if you don’t have any advertisement banner to place, you are requested to provide us US$ 100.oo against receiving our service for a year. As per your convenience either you can send draft or cash via Bank or money transfers at the People’s Review account in the NB Bank, Kathmandu.

As we have been receiving your remarkable contribution on strengthening our ability in serving you in a regular basis, we further seek your support by providing us financial support to success our new venture.

We hope, you will respond us positively,

Sincerely yours,
Pushpa Raj Pradhan and other members in the People’s Review weekly.