Tuesday , September 25 2018
Home / Political News / Current News / No 4 province named Gandaki

No 4 province named Gandaki

By Our Reporter
Province No. 4 has been named as Gandaki. A meeting of the Provincial Assembly held on Friday endorsed the proposal to name the province as Gandaki. The proposal was endorsed by a two-thirds majority.
Of the 56 provincial lawmakers, 54 voted for the proposal and two other lawmakers from Naya Shakti Party voted against it. Earlier, a committee formed to study possible name and capital of Province 4 based on feedback collected from people had floated four names—Gandaki, Tamuwan Magarat, Gorkha and Dhaulagiri.
On Monday, a Provincial Assembly meeting approved Pokhara as permanent capital of  Gandaki Province.
The naming of the province as Gandaki was hailed by all people and leaders of major political parties. However, a negligible number of people protested the decision that the province should be named as Tamuwan Magarat.
Province No 4 is the second after Province No 6 to name the province. Province No. 6 was named as Karnali three months ago.

Check Also

Nepal Army to complete fast track road timely

Kathmandu, 21 September: The Nepal Army has claimed that the Kathmandu-Tarai fast-track road will be …