Friday , September 21 2018
Home / Political News / Current News / NSU election makes Deuba further stronger in NC

NSU election makes Deuba further stronger in NC

By Our Reporter
Nepali Congress president Sher Bahadur Deuba has further tightened his grip on the party by sweeping the elections of the Nepal Students Union, the powerful student wing of the party, in its 11th general convention.  All the candidates loyal to Deuba were elected in the key posts. His rival faction led by Ram Chandra Poudel had to be content with only the post of treasurer, which was won by Shiva Rimal.
Naina Singh Mahar was elected president of the NSU by securing 1,477 votes against Manojmani Achraya who received only 1328 votes. Acharya was loyal to Poudel faction in the party.
Likewise, Kundan Kafle and Saroj Kumar Thapa were elected to the post of general secretaries. Kafle was Krishna Sitaula’s candidate while Thapa of Deuba himself.
The convention inaugurated on August 1, lasted for two weeks due to disputes over the ‘fake representatives’ issue.  As the disputes lingered, the Krishna Situala camp forged alliance with Deuba’s camp, which resulted in the clean sweep in the elections. If Deuba and Sitaula had not filed joint candidates, Poudel camp would have won the elections.
Bikash KC has been elected the Vice-President from province no 1, Sanjay Yadav from province no 2, Ram Prasad Adhikari from province no 3, Dilliram Subedi from province no 4, Prakash Rana from province no 5, Khadga Dangi from province no 6 and Pushkar Shahi from province no 7, said election officer Krishna Prasad Paneru.
Those elected vice-President under the inclusive category are Urmila Thapa (women), Pavan Yadav (Madhesi), Nabin Rai (indigenous), and Sagar Pariyar (Dalit).
Similarly, elected to the post of Assistant General Secretary for Province No 1 is Krishna Karki, Rajesh Kumar Rauniyar for Province No 2, Madhav Prasad Dhakal for Province No 3, Harihar Sharma for Province No 4, Prakash Ghimire for Province No 5, Ishwar Bahadur Bista Province No 6 and Achyut Raj Kalauni Province No 7.
Likewise, Sadhana Ghimire has been elected as the Assistant- General Secretary under the female student category, Parameshower Shah under the Madheshi category, Dipesh Rai under indigenous category and Lalit Sunar under the Dalit catergory.

Check Also

What nation achieved by ousting monarchy?: Kamal Thapa

Kathmandu, 19 September: RPP chairman Kamal Thapa has stated that what the nation achieved by …